june 18

Hope everyone survived Monday! It just seems like every weekend in the summer has some big event which can make Mondays more difficult in the summer than the rest of the year. My Monday was not that great. Nothing disastrous but those dang headaches came back last night and finally started improving a couple hours ago (it’s past midnight now). Times like these I really miss two things. The first, ibuprofen. Ibuprofen is >>>> (greater than) Tylenol and therefore, like wine which is greater than grape juice, it’s not good for the baby. The second thing I miss is a bathtub. When I first started getting headaches during my pregnancy, the bathtub kind of became my new fave as it seemed to help quite a bit.

Have I mentioned it has been hot here? 105• this afternoon. Since it was so hot, I told Blake I would bring out supper at seven, hoping it would have started cooling down by then. On my way out, it was still 100•. Tomorrow is going to be another hot one but then Wednesday we are due for a cool 88•. Eighty-eight will never have felt so good!

The mister had a pretty good cutting day. He had figured that he should be able to cut three 80 acre pieces (240 acres) per day. Well, it looked like he had estimated correctly until we ran into 60+ bushel/ acre fields. I heard that south of town, it was only making around 10 so the 40-45 bushel wheat we had been cutting was good but 60+ bushel is excellent. With the higher bushel, the combine has to do more work and therefore, you have to go slower so Blake got 180 acres done today.

Tomorrow, we will be changing things up once again. Grandpa is heading to Manter to try to help them finish up down there. Lloyd, one of our hired guys, has his great-grandma’s funeral tomorrow so they would be short one combine operator if grandpa wasn’t going down. On our front, Gilbert will drive truck. I’m going to bring out lunch and then bring out sandwiches for supper. I’ll ride with Blake and if we get backed up, he can take a load to the elevator and I can drive combine. Since the wheat is so good, it’s pretty slow going. Blake has seen me drive the thing so if he feels comfortable, it should be okay.

As for lunch tomorrow, I found a recipe for sour cream bacon wrapped chicken. You put it in the crock pot so I started it up tonight right before I came to bed. Since it has been so hot, it’s less harsh on the AC to contend with anything that heats the camper up at night. Hope it tastes okay!

Our main farmer in Chappell called. It ready. I believe it was supposed to be 106• today. We will figure out the logistics of who is heading up there soon. For now, I’m going to sleep! Good night!

Leave a comment