Gallery

sun dried tomato chicken

I have been on a bit of a cooking adventure lately. I’ve been trying new things left and right – bread, cinnamon rolls, different casseroles, homemade pizza, and so on. If you think about cooking two meals a day for the whole summer, it can seem like a major task. Granted, my mother-in-law also cooks and probably more than her half, so it’s more like six meals a week rather than 14. Still, six bigger meals can be a lot!

I decided to take advantage of cooking for a bunch of men. When we’re home, it’s just Blake and me so we usually have some leftovers. If I try something new and we don’t like it, we can either toss out the extras or choke them down. Here, everything is cleaned up pretty well after most meals so if it’s not great, I can try to redeem myself again in a couple hours or for sure the next day.

Typically, I get these new recipes online and from different cookbooks. Today I had an idea of what I wanted to make but couldn’t find a recipe, so I made my own and it worked out – this time.

I wasn’t going to put this up but I posted a picture on Instagram and a couple people wanted the recipe. (If you have instagram, add me @theharvesterswife!)

20130701-160009.jpg

Sun Dried Tomato Chicken

This size of recipe was made for a bunch of men. It could easily be made in smaller portions.

7 lg chicken breasts
1/2 lb bacon
1 pckg (3.5 oz) sun dried tomatoes
Olive oil
Italian seasoning, to taste
Salt and pepper, to taste

Sauce:
3 Tbsp butter
3 Tbsp flour
1 1/2 c chicken broth
3/4 half & half (or milk)

Directions:
In a large pan (I used stainless steel), fry bacon until crispy. Set cooked bacon aside and drain grease. Using the same pan, sauté sun dried tomatoes in olive oil (you could use the bacon grease but I didn’t want too much of a bacon flavor). When done, set those aside. Then season chicken with salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning to taste and until lightly brown on the outside (this step may be unnecessary but I wanted to make sure the large pieces cooked through). Place chicken, bacon, and tomatoes in baking pan. Do not clean the pan as drippings add flavor. Over heat, melt butter, add milk and broth and more Italian seasoning. Whisk in flour to thicken. Once at desired consistency, dump over chicken. Cover with foil and bake at 350 for about 45 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink in the center.

Again, I made a huge batch so it may not need to be cooked that long. Also, I used Magic Mix instead of flour to thicken because of our gluten free needs but flour would work fine.

I am posting this off my phone because I had to fight with someone to take a nap and she finally did…

20130701-173156.jpg

2 responses to “sun dried tomato chicken

  1. So glad you posted this! I’m absolutely tickled pink that this doesn’t have any cheese in it, and I can make it with goat milk! (I’m @flowermama on IG!)

Leave a Reply

